Every March in Barcelona, Spain, the Mobile World Congress kicks off – which is sort of like the E3 or CES for mobile phones. As such, we usually see pretty big announcements there, or at least coinciding with the event from wherever the big names in mobile want to congregate during that first week of the month. It seems that HTC is looking to make a big announcement for its latest flagship phone at MWC, as it’s started sending out invites to press outlets that tease what it’s got in store for us this year.

As you can see in the imagehtc-invite, HTC is asking the press to “join us to see what’s next,” and is using the truly crazy tagline, “Utopia in progress.” I mean, smartphones are awesome, but a utopia?

Anyway, the unveiling is set for March 1, 3:15 p.m. CET, or Central European Time. That translates to about 9:15 a.m., Eastern, 6:15 a.m. Pacific, so if you’re in LA and hoping to watch the event online, you’re probably going to want to stay in bed.

A post on AndroidCentral about the announcement speculates that the new handset has been rumored to be packed with tbhe new Snapdragon 810 processor from Qualcomm, sitting under a 5-inch 1080p display. Other than that, though, it’s anybody’s guess. Last year, the HTC One M8 was subject to a ridiculous amount of leaks (like this one, this one, and this one), but that doesn’t seem to be as much of a problem this time around. Even still, we have some inkling as to what HTC has been working on, as details for a device codenamed “Hima” have been floating around for a few months now.

ALSO READ
6 Android apps to edit photos directly on your smartphone

It’ll be interesting to see how HTC tries to differentiate this latest smartphone at MWC in a few short months. The One M8 had two rear cameras to provide high-quality photos. Will the new flagship try to top that feat? Or will in concentrate on another aspect of smartphone features?

[Source: AndroidCentral]


>
Share This