Programming Road

I figure as I am young and would like a computer career in the future, It would be best to learn a major computer language now. As a just in case kind of thing, and it is just nice to have it backing you up if I ever need it. C++ seems like it is one of the most popular computer languages out their, so where should I start. I have no knowledge of computer programming (aside from HTML and CSS if that counts) and would like to start somewhere easy and simple, but not something that will take forever to learn. Help appreciated.

Edited by Mistabigshot

Easy and simple doesn't describe c++ in any way IMO. Maybe python or java would be a better place to start. I dont know any python (several other users here do) but im taking java and like it alot and it shares some similar syntax with c++.

I figure as I am young and would like a computer career in the future, It would be best to learn a major computer language now. As a just in case kind of thing, and it is just nice to have it backing you up if I ever need it. C++ seems like it is one of the most popular computer languages out their, so where should I start. I have no knowledge of computer programming (aside from HTML and CSS if that counts) and would like to start somewhere easy and simple, but not something that will take forever to learn. Help appreciated.

HTML and CSS do not count, they are not programming languages. At best they will give you familiartity with formal languages and editing them in gneral but that is a very small part of programming. Languages in general are only a small part and once you know how to program they are fairly easy to pick up.

I'd suggest that if you want to learn to program, you should start with Ruby or Python. Java is probably a better first language than C++ but Ruby and Python are far better than it in turn.

not sure if I count but here are my two cents,