Sign in to follow this  
Dragon

Help!

Recommended Posts

ok, I got into my linux install. and I was able to pull a dmesg. as expected my MAC address on linux is the same as it is on Windows. Please realize that this is with networking removed from the rc.d so I don't know how accurate it is.

[email protected]:~$ dmesg

[4294675.933000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:10.1[A] -> Link [ALKB] -> GSI 21 (level, low) -> IRQ 21
[4294675.933000] PCI: Via IRQ fixup for 0000:00:10.1, from 10 to 5
[4294675.933000] uhci_hcd 0000:00:10.1: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (#2)
[4294675.995000] uhci_hcd 0000:00:10.1: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 2
[4294675.995000] uhci_hcd 0000:00:10.1: irq 21, io base 0x0000b400
[4294675.995000] hub 2-0:1.0: USB hub found
[4294675.995000] hub 2-0:1.0: 2 ports detected
[4294675.998000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:10.2[B] -> Link [ALKB] -> GSI 21 (level, low) -> IRQ 21
[4294675.998000] uhci_hcd 0000:00:10.2: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (#3)
[4294676.060000] uhci_hcd 0000:00:10.2: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 3
[4294676.060000] uhci_hcd 0000:00:10.2: irq 21, io base 0x0000b800
[4294676.060000] hub 3-0:1.0: USB hub found
[4294676.060000] hub 3-0:1.0: 2 ports detected
[4294676.063000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:10.3[B] -> Link [ALKB] -> GSI 21 (level, low) -> IRQ 21
[4294676.063000] uhci_hcd 0000:00:10.3: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (#4)
[4294676.125000] uhci_hcd 0000:00:10.3: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 4
[4294676.125000] uhci_hcd 0000:00:10.3: irq 21, io base 0x0000bc00
[4294676.125000] hub 4-0:1.0: USB hub found
[4294676.125000] hub 4-0:1.0: 2 ports detected
[4294676.165000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:10.4[C] -> Link [ALKB] -> GSI 21 (level, low) -> IRQ 21
[4294676.165000] PCI: Via IRQ fixup for 0000:00:10.4, from 11 to 5
[4294676.165000] ehci_hcd 0000:00:10.4: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0
[4294676.165000] ehci_hcd 0000:00:10.4: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 5
[4294676.165000] ehci_hcd 0000:00:10.4: irq 21, io mem 0xe2010000
[4294676.165000] ehci_hcd 0000:00:10.4: USB 2.0 initialized, EHCI 1.00, driver 10 Dec 2004
[4294676.165000] hub 5-0:1.0: USB hub found
[4294676.165000] hub 5-0:1.0: 8 ports detected
[4294676.216000] via-rhine.c:v1.10-LK1.2.0-2.6 June-10-2004 Written by Donald Becker
[4294676.216000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [ALKD] BIOS reported IRQ 0, using IRQ 23
[4294676.216000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [ALKD] enabled at IRQ 23
[4294676.216000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:12.0[A] -> Link [ALKD] -> GSI 23 (level, low) -> IRQ 23
[4294676.216000] PCI: Via IRQ fixup for 0000:00:12.0, from 10 to 7
[4294676.216000] via-rhine: Reset not complete yet. Trying harder.
[4294676.217000] eth0: VIA Rhine II at 0x1c400, 00:0f:ea:14:d9:15, IRQ 23.
[4294676.217000] eth0: MII PHY found at address 1, status 0x786d advertising 01e1 Link 45e1.
[4294677.622000] usb 2-1: new low speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 2
[4294677.970000] usb 1-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 3[4294678.225000] usb 4-1: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 2[4294678.478000] usb 4-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 3[4294688.576000] usbcore: registered new driver hiddev
[4294688.595000] input: USB HID v1.00 Joystick [Padix Co. Ltd. USB Joystick / Gamepad] on usb-0000:00:10.1-1
[4294688.613000] input: USB HID v1.00 Gamepad [Padix Co. Ltd. USB Joystick / Gamepad] on usb-0000:00:10.1-1
[4294688.613000] usbcore: registered new driver usbhid
[4294688.613000] drivers/usb/input/hid-core.c: v2.01:USB HID core driver
[4294689.086000] ACPI: CPU0 (power states: C1[C1])
[4294689.197000] Attempting manual resume
[4294689.223000] swsusp: Suspend partition has wrong signature?
[4294689.273000] kjournald starting. Commit interval 5 seconds
[4294689.273000] EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
[4294691.649000] md: md driver 0.90.1 MAX_MD_DEVS=256, MD_SB_DISKS=27
[4294695.757000] Adding 265032k swap on /dev/hdb5. Priority:-1 extents:1
[4294695.971000] EXT3 FS on hdb1, internal journal
[4294710.877000] parport: PnPBIOS parport detected.
[4294710.877000] parport0: PC-style at 0x378, irq 7 [PCSPP,TRISTATE]
[4294710.966000] lp0: using parport0 (interrupt-driven).
[4294711.004000] mice: PS/2 mouse device common for all mice
[4294711.041000] Linux agpgart interface v0.101 (c) Dave Jones
[4294711.090000] nvidia: module license 'NVIDIA' taints kernel.
[4294711.142000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:01:00.0[A] -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
[4294711.143000] NVRM: loading NVIDIA Linux x86 NVIDIA Kernel Module 1.0-7667 Fri Jun 17 07:01:04 PDT 2005
[4294711.190000] it87: Found IT8705F chip at 0x290, revision 3
[4294711.296000] it87 1-0290: Detected broken BIOS defaults, disabling PWM interface
[4294714.160000] device-mapper: 4.4.0-ioctl (2005-01-12) initialised: [email protected]
[4294715.525000] cdrom: open failed.
[4294715.527000] cdrom: open failed.
[4294716.266000] NTFS driver 2.1.22 [Flags: R/O MODULE].
[4294716.332000] NTFS volume version 3.1.
[4294717.702000] agpgart: Detected VIA KT400/KT400A/KT600 chipset
[4294717.731000] agpgart: AGP aperture is 128M @ 0xd0000000
[4294717.860000] pci_hotplug: PCI Hot Plug PCI Core version: 0.5
[4294717.877000] shpchp: shpc_init : shpc_cap_offset == 0
[4294717.877000] shpchp: Standard Hot Plug PCI Controller Driver version: 0.4
[4294718.719000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [ALKC] BIOS reported IRQ 0, using IRQ 22
[4294718.719000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [ALKC] enabled at IRQ 22
[4294718.719000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:11.5[C] -> Link [ALKC] -> GSI 22 (level, low) -> IRQ 22
[4294718.719000] PCI: Via IRQ fixup for 0000:00:11.5, from 11 to 6
[4294718.719000] PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:11.5 to 64
[4294723.160000] drivers/usb/class/usblp.c: usblp0: USB Bidirectional printer dev 3 if 0 alt 0 proto 2 vid 0x043D pid 0x0057
[4294723.168000] usbcore: registered new driver usblp
[4294723.168000] drivers/usb/class/usblp.c: v0.13: USB Printer Device Class driver
[4294723.893000] Real Time Clock Driver v1.12
[4294723.967000] input: PC Speaker
[4294724.153000] Floppy drive(s): fd0 is 1.44M
[4294724.168000] FDC 0 is a post-1991 82077
[4294725.895000] eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
[4294725.922000] NET: Registered protocol family 17
[4294823.143000] ACPI: Power Button (FF) [PWRF]
[4294823.143000] ACPI: Power Button (CM) [PWRB]
[4294823.281000] ibm_acpi: ec object not found
[4294831.231000] agpgart: Found an AGP 3.5 compliant device at 0000:00:00.0.
[4294831.231000] agpgart: Device is in legacy mode, falling back to 2.x
[4294831.231000] agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:00:00.0 into 4x mode
[4294831.231000] agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:01:00.0 into 4x mode
[4294882.185000] agpgart: Found an AGP 3.5 compliant device at 0000:00:00.0.
[4294882.185000] agpgart: Device is in legacy mode, falling back to 2.x
[4294882.185000] agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:00:00.0 into 4x mode
[4294882.186000] agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:01:00.0 into 4x mode
[4294931.642000] apm: BIOS version 1.2 Flags 0x07 (Driver version 1.16ac)
[4294931.642000] apm: overridden by ACPI.
[4294945.543000] NET: Registered protocol family 10
[4294945.543000] Disabled Privacy Extensions on device c02eb280(lo)
[4294945.543000] IPv6 over IPv4 tunneling driver
[4294955.731000] eth0: no IPv6 routers present

I'm hoping someone can help me determine if this is on my end or not.

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm a little unclear, I thought you weren't able to connect using windows on the same hardware, are you? If so I'de say the problem is more than likely on your end, the fact that your system is freezing is a sign it might be as well. I take it you are able to boot after disabling the networking from the appropriate runlevels, I am curious if your are able to start it manually.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm a little unclear, I thought you weren't able to connect using windows on the same hardware, are you? If so I'de say the problem is more than likely on your end, the fact that your system is freezing is a sign it might be as well. I take it you are able to boot after disabling the networking from the appropriate runlevels, I am curious if your are able to start it manually.

his live ubuntu cd quit working also, so that makes it seem like something changed on there end.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
ok, I got into my linux install. and I was able to pull a dmesg. as expected my MAC address on linux is the same as it is on Windows. Please realize that this is with networking removed from the rc.d so I don't know how accurate it is.

[email protected]:~$ dmesg

[4294675.933000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:10.1[A] -> Link [ALKB] -> GSI 21 (level, low) -> IRQ 21
[4294675.933000] PCI: Via IRQ fixup for 0000:00:10.1, from 10 to 5
[4294675.933000] uhci_hcd 0000:00:10.1: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (#2)
[4294675.995000] uhci_hcd 0000:00:10.1: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 2
[4294675.995000] uhci_hcd 0000:00:10.1: irq 21, io base 0x0000b400
[4294675.995000] hub 2-0:1.0: USB hub found
[4294675.995000] hub 2-0:1.0: 2 ports detected
[4294675.998000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:10.2[B] -> Link [ALKB] -> GSI 21 (level, low) -> IRQ 21
[4294675.998000] uhci_hcd 0000:00:10.2: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (#3)
[4294676.060000] uhci_hcd 0000:00:10.2: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 3
[4294676.060000] uhci_hcd 0000:00:10.2: irq 21, io base 0x0000b800
[4294676.060000] hub 3-0:1.0: USB hub found
[4294676.060000] hub 3-0:1.0: 2 ports detected
[4294676.063000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:10.3[B] -> Link [ALKB] -> GSI 21 (level, low) -> IRQ 21
[4294676.063000] uhci_hcd 0000:00:10.3: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (#4)
[4294676.125000] uhci_hcd 0000:00:10.3: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 4
[4294676.125000] uhci_hcd 0000:00:10.3: irq 21, io base 0x0000bc00
[4294676.125000] hub 4-0:1.0: USB hub found
[4294676.125000] hub 4-0:1.0: 2 ports detected
[4294676.165000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:10.4[C] -> Link [ALKB] -> GSI 21 (level, low) -> IRQ 21
[4294676.165000] PCI: Via IRQ fixup for 0000:00:10.4, from 11 to 5
[4294676.165000] ehci_hcd 0000:00:10.4: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0
[4294676.165000] ehci_hcd 0000:00:10.4: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 5
[4294676.165000] ehci_hcd 0000:00:10.4: irq 21, io mem 0xe2010000
[4294676.165000] ehci_hcd 0000:00:10.4: USB 2.0 initialized, EHCI 1.00, driver 10 Dec 2004
[4294676.165000] hub 5-0:1.0: USB hub found
[4294676.165000] hub 5-0:1.0: 8 ports detected
[4294676.216000] via-rhine.c:v1.10-LK1.2.0-2.6 June-10-2004 Written by Donald Becker
[4294676.216000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [ALKD] BIOS reported IRQ 0, using IRQ 23
[4294676.216000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [ALKD] enabled at IRQ 23
[4294676.216000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:12.0[A] -> Link [ALKD] -> GSI 23 (level, low) -> IRQ 23
[4294676.216000] PCI: Via IRQ fixup for 0000:00:12.0, from 10 to 7
[4294676.216000] via-rhine: Reset not complete yet. Trying harder.
[4294676.217000] eth0: VIA Rhine II at 0x1c400, 00:0f:ea:14:d9:15, IRQ 23.
[4294676.217000] eth0: MII PHY found at address 1, status 0x786d advertising 01e1 Link 45e1.
[4294677.622000] usb 2-1: new low speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 2
[4294677.970000] usb 1-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 3[4294678.225000] usb 4-1: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 2[4294678.478000] usb 4-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 3[4294688.576000] usbcore: registered new driver hiddev
[4294688.595000] input: USB HID v1.00 Joystick [Padix Co. Ltd. USB Joystick / Gamepad] on usb-0000:00:10.1-1
[4294688.613000] input: USB HID v1.00 Gamepad [Padix Co. Ltd. USB Joystick / Gamepad] on usb-0000:00:10.1-1
[4294688.613000] usbcore: registered new driver usbhid
[4294688.613000] drivers/usb/input/hid-core.c: v2.01:USB HID core driver
[4294689.086000] ACPI: CPU0 (power states: C1[C1])
[4294689.197000] Attempting manual resume
[4294689.223000] swsusp: Suspend partition has wrong signature?
[4294689.273000] kjournald starting. Commit interval 5 seconds
[4294689.273000] EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
[4294691.649000] md: md driver 0.90.1 MAX_MD_DEVS=256, MD_SB_DISKS=27
[4294695.757000] Adding 265032k swap on /dev/hdb5. Priority:-1 extents:1
[4294695.971000] EXT3 FS on hdb1, internal journal
[4294710.877000] parport: PnPBIOS parport detected.
[4294710.877000] parport0: PC-style at 0x378, irq 7 [PCSPP,TRISTATE]
[4294710.966000] lp0: using parport0 (interrupt-driven).
[4294711.004000] mice: PS/2 mouse device common for all mice
[4294711.041000] Linux agpgart interface v0.101 (c) Dave Jones
[4294711.090000] nvidia: module license 'NVIDIA' taints kernel.
[4294711.142000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:01:00.0[A] -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
[4294711.143000] NVRM: loading NVIDIA Linux x86 NVIDIA Kernel Module 1.0-7667 Fri Jun 17 07:01:04 PDT 2005
[4294711.190000] it87: Found IT8705F chip at 0x290, revision 3
[4294711.296000] it87 1-0290: Detected broken BIOS defaults, disabling PWM interface
[4294714.160000] device-mapper: 4.4.0-ioctl (2005-01-12) initialised: [email protected]
[4294715.525000] cdrom: open failed.
[4294715.527000] cdrom: open failed.
[4294716.266000] NTFS driver 2.1.22 [Flags: R/O MODULE].
[4294716.332000] NTFS volume version 3.1.
[4294717.702000] agpgart: Detected VIA KT400/KT400A/KT600 chipset
[4294717.731000] agpgart: AGP aperture is 128M @ 0xd0000000
[4294717.860000] pci_hotplug: PCI Hot Plug PCI Core version: 0.5
[4294717.877000] shpchp: shpc_init : shpc_cap_offset == 0
[4294717.877000] shpchp: Standard Hot Plug PCI Controller Driver version: 0.4
[4294718.719000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [ALKC] BIOS reported IRQ 0, using IRQ 22
[4294718.719000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [ALKC] enabled at IRQ 22
[4294718.719000] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:11.5[C] -> Link [ALKC] -> GSI 22 (level, low) -> IRQ 22
[4294718.719000] PCI: Via IRQ fixup for 0000:00:11.5, from 11 to 6
[4294718.719000] PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:11.5 to 64
[4294723.160000] drivers/usb/class/usblp.c: usblp0: USB Bidirectional printer dev 3 if 0 alt 0 proto 2 vid 0x043D pid 0x0057
[4294723.168000] usbcore: registered new driver usblp
[4294723.168000] drivers/usb/class/usblp.c: v0.13: USB Printer Device Class driver
[4294723.893000] Real Time Clock Driver v1.12
[4294723.967000] input: PC Speaker
[4294724.153000] Floppy drive(s): fd0 is 1.44M
[4294724.168000] FDC 0 is a post-1991 82077
[4294725.895000] eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
[4294725.922000] NET: Registered protocol family 17
[4294823.143000] ACPI: Power Button (FF) [PWRF]
[4294823.143000] ACPI: Power Button (CM) [PWRB]
[4294823.281000] ibm_acpi: ec object not found
[4294831.231000] agpgart: Found an AGP 3.5 compliant device at 0000:00:00.0.
[4294831.231000] agpgart: Device is in legacy mode, falling back to 2.x
[4294831.231000] agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:00:00.0 into 4x mode
[4294831.231000] agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:01:00.0 into 4x mode
[4294882.185000] agpgart: Found an AGP 3.5 compliant device at 0000:00:00.0.
[4294882.185000] agpgart: Device is in legacy mode, falling back to 2.x
[4294882.185000] agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:00:00.0 into 4x mode
[4294882.186000] agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:01:00.0 into 4x mode
[4294931.642000] apm: BIOS version 1.2 Flags 0x07 (Driver version 1.16ac)
[4294931.642000] apm: overridden by ACPI.
[4294945.543000] NET: Registered protocol family 10
[4294945.543000] Disabled Privacy Extensions on device c02eb280(lo)
[4294945.543000] IPv6 over IPv4 tunneling driver
[4294955.731000] eth0: no IPv6 routers present

I'm hoping someone can help me determine if this is on my end or not.

Thanks

ok by your dmesg you have a network connection..

now in one windows do a tcpdump -v

and in another do dhcpcd /dev/eth0

past the output of tcpdump..

also have you updated drivers? and have you tried to hard set it,

and last do you have an old computer (486 or better) around with two nics? if so look up devil linux or monowall and we can build a test to make sure ubuntu is not messed up (I have killed ubuntu many of times, hence I stay with slackware and gentoo..)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

naruku,

yes I can hook up using windows with no issues. it's my linux install that is kaput when it does dhcp. According to the phone company when I was talking to them they were seeing the release of the IP address but they were not seeing any request for one when I booted to Linux.

Shanenin,

You are correct even with my live CD I was unable to connect to the internet. although it did boot up without hanging on the "configuring Network Connection" like it does on my installed version. Thats even after following your directions to remove the networking rc.d. Although now it doesn't hang quite as long and does get to the desktop.

Iccaros,

Will it make a difference that I removed the networking from the rc.d configuration file like shanenin gave me th e instructions to do? I will wait for your response on that question before I go through the hassle of booting up linux, since currently I still have to play musical Mouse between adn optical and ball type.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

its does not matter.. yoru rc script just set up dhcp anyways.. what we are going to do is do it manualy while insuring that it is sending a request.

mouse problems, I missed that before....

also,

where there any software or hardware changes (on your system...)

Edited by iccaros

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

no changes to the computer itself.

All we have done recently is get a new monitor, which was purchased about a month before this started. and a new Optical Mouse, which was purchased after it started.

I'll get that dump and post back.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ok I not only did I do the steps you mentioned but I took a look at my syslog paying particular attention to anything in regards to DHCP and I'm finding a discrepency between Windows and Ubuntu.

First here is what tcpdump -v produced. I'm only including one entry of it because it kept looping saying the exact same thing. Probably what it's supposed to do.

IP (tos 0x0, ttl 62, id 13, offset 0, flags [none], proto: udp (17) length: 1344) 192.168.2.9.8208 > 233.13.186.94.8208: upd, length 1316

when I ran the /dev/eth0 I get the following in it

bash: /dev/wth0: no such file or directory.

now in the syslog in regards to DHCP it mentions my subnet mask as being 255.255.255.255. However on Windows it's 255.255.240.0

I don't know if this makes a difference or not. I don't know if this is assigned by DHCP or not. If not then I need to find a way to change the subnet mask on Ubuntu. Not sure how I would do that tho.

In regards to the old 486 computer you asked about earlier, I do have one, I was going to look into making a server out of, but I only have one NIC card that I can install to it. I'm not even sure the NIC card I have will work in it. I haven't gotten that far in checking yet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

DHCP should always send out a 255.255.255.255 IP AS that is called an all ones (11111111.11111111.11111111.11111111) meaning all computers on all networks can hear it.

when you ran dhcpc /dev/eth0 it looks like you typed wth0, that's what the error said.. but I may be reading it wrong..

hmmm.

try this ..

boot windows and get all your ip informtaion

ipconfig /all

boot linux and put it in like so

ifconfig eth0 <ipaddress> netmask <netmask> broadcast<broadcast>

let me know if that works, or someone look over if I am missing something as I'm on winders right now and can can't check

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ok I will test that after I get back, it's time for a little R&R with my daughter. taking her to the park. I'll have an answer later this afternoon.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would to.. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does the information from ipconfig /all in windows match what is in /etc/network/interfaces?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ok, here is the latest.

tried what Iccaros suggested, no joy.

Then I went and redid the dhcpc /dev/eth0 command and this time I got this reply. My bad on the first run, I forgot the dhcpc part.

bash: dhcpc: unkown command

so what I did was turn around and forced a reinstall of Ubuntu. I now have my eth0 set up as a static IP just to allow me access to the desktop. Since I'm not assigned a static IP from my ISP, it won't give me internet access. and trying to reset the system to dhcp rather than a static IP, I get the following in my syslog.

dhcprequested IP 255.255.255.255

dhcpoffer from 111.111.111.0 (or something along that line)

It just does that continually. so it's like it's getting offered but isn't taking the IP address. I don't know. and this is after the re-installation.

Naruku,

before I forced the reinstall of Ubuntu, I did check that. The info was the same. I didn't check it after the reinstall because I had it set up as a static IP entry using the info from ipconfig /all

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

well this definately isn't your everyday linux install.

here is what I have just done.

booted into Ubuntu. switched eth0 over to DHCP, of course it just sat there trying to get an IP address. while that was going, I opened a root terminal and started tcpdump -v. Then I went and put in the full path as shanenin suggested go this response:

bash: /sbin/dhcpc: unknown command

So appearantly dhcpc doesn't exist on Ubuntu.

so just for grins and giggles I looked at another item that is on Ubuntu dhclient.

This is what I got when I ran it. dunno if it will help you out or not.

dhclient /dev/eth0

sit0:unknown hardware address type 776
SICSIFADDR: no such device
dev/eth0: error while getting interface flags
dev/eth0: error while getting interface flags
sit0: unknown hardware address type 776
bind socket to interface: no such device

Now maybe this will help you, I don't know, when it comes to this type of programming it's all Greek to me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
bash: /sbin/dhcpc: unknown command

So appearantly dhcpc doesn't exist on Ubuntu.

It's dhcpcd.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
you are correct about the spelling, but ubuntu does not seem to have that installed

It's in the dhcpcd package. Ubuntu must not include it in the base install.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

you are correct about the spelling, but ubuntu does not seem to have that installed

It's in the dhcpcd package. Ubuntu must not include it in the base install.

Perhaps you can use synaptic or apt-get to install the package, Dragon? I'm not running Ubuntu at the present time, so I can't see if that is offered in the package groups.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not that I have much to offer over the significantly more advanced "experts" but...

So appearantly dhcpc doesn't exist on Ubuntu.
You are correct...If you check /sbin for dhcpc, it's not there, but dhclient is and when I run
sudo dhclient

It seems to reacquire my IP

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Perhaps you can use synaptic or apt-get to install the package, Dragon? I'm not running Ubuntu at the present time, so I can't see if that is offered in the package groups.

well Hitest that would work except I don't have any internet connectivity, which is why I started this thread. therefore I can not get it from synaptic. Unlike Mandriva, ubuntu doesn't give you everything on disk. it only installs base items and then you download the rest from their repos.

Not that I have much to offer over the significantly more advanced "experts" but...

So appearantly dhcpc doesn't exist on Ubuntu.

You are correct...If you check /sbin for dhcpc, it's not there, but dhclient is and when I run

sudo dhclient

It seems to reacquire my IP

Thats the next step I plan on trying. although I think the issue is on the phone companies end. especially since i did a reinstall of Ubuntu and I still can't connect to the internet with. I am currently using a fake static ip, by using the info from my windows install. goes right through to the desktop, but still no internet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ok to re-cap, you have ubuntu setup with the same ipaddress, gateway and subnet, and broadcast as your windows and it still does not work?

hmmmm...

I know you have tried a ubuntu cd.. but for giggles.. can you try ot get DSL or puppy and see of they work (still debian but small)

if they do, do

sudo su

lsmod

and lets compaire that to what ubuntu loads as modules..

I see it as one of few things things..

iptables (firewall)

module (for somereason its loading a wrong module)

or gateway,broadcast are incorrect.

this is the full ipsetup structure (just incase we missed somthing before)

ifconfig eth1 192.168.1.23 broadcast 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0

route command lets you set default gateways

(just route will show your gateways)

route

Kernel IP routing table

Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface

192.168.1.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0

192.168.1.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth1

172.16.250.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 vmnet1

172.16.237.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 vmnet8

loopback huskeyw 255.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 lo

default m0n0wall.local 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0

to set up default route one of the two will work

route add -net 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 gw 192.168.1.1 dev eth0

this will set up the network and route

route add -net default gw 192.168.1.1 dev eth0

this will setup the default gateway to a known network

I think the dev part is not nessary.. but It doesnt hurt on mine.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have DSL here already, thats what I was thinking about using as my Server OS. don't know if it's got to be installed or if I can do a live cd off of it. I will check. otherwise I will have to install it to test everything out, I will do that this afternoon, have to leave in about 45minutes to take my daughter to the Doctor for a follow-up on her ear infection & Bronchitus episode.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ok,

I'm doing this from DSL live cd setup. here is the lsmod report. my next step will be to boot to Ubuntu and see if it's working on the net or not. if not I will then get an lsmod from it and make another post with it. I might consider doing an install of this but I prefer Gnome over KDE :P worse case scenario I adjust. Anyway enough rambling, here is the lsmod report.

[email protected][dsl]*
Module Size Used by Not tainted
ext3 64452 0 (autoclean)
jbd 46516 0 (autoclean) [ext3]
mousedev 3832 0 (unused)
af_packet 13544 0 (autoclean)
nks_iso8859-1 2844 0 (autoclean)
ntfs 50944 0 (autoclean)
msdos 4684 0 (autoclean)
via82cxxx_audio 19448 1
ac97_codec 11916 0 [via82cxxx_audio]
uart401 6052 0 [via82cxxx_audio]
sound 55276 0 [via82cxxx_audio]
soundcore 3428 4 [via82cxxx_audio]
via-rhine 12304 1
mii 2240 0 [via-rhine]
crc32 2816 0 [via-rhine]
serial 52100 0 (autoclean)
hpusbscsi 6408 0 (unused)
hid 22372 0 (unused)
input 3168 0 (mousedev hid)
printer 8352 0 (unused)
pcmcia_core 39840 0
rtc 7036 0 (autoclean)
cloop 8740 2
ieee1394 183076 0
usb-storage 61696 0 (unused)
usb-uhci 21644 0 (unused)
usbcore 57600 1 [hpusbscsi hid printer usb-storage usb-uhci]
ataraid 6180 0
ide-cd 28512 0
ide-scsi 8816 1

i will be back in a bit with the lsmod from Ubuntu.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this